Goddess, Knowledge

Navratri: The 9 Avatars of Durga & 9 Colours to Wear This Festive Week

India is a land steeped in culture and spirituality, where festivals hold a special place in the hearts of its people. Navratri, one of the most vibrant and revered festivals in India, is a celebration that transcends religious boundaries and brings communities together in joyful harmony. This nine-night festival, dedicated to the goddess Durga, is a time of fasting, prayer, dance, and devotion.

The 9 Avatars of Durga

The word Navratri is synchrony of two words “ Nava,” meaning nine and “Ratri,” meaning nights, hence when joined, it symbolizes nine-day long festive celebrations. This festival of nine days acknowledges the triumph of good over the evil, restores dharma over adharma, purifies negativities, and cultivates positivity and holiness.

During the Navaratri days, the female cosmic power– Goddess Durga is worshipped, sung, and invoked in its nine forms. All the forms manifested by Maa Durga signifies power, strength, bravery, knowledge, beauty, grace, and auspiciousness.

For nine days, these Navaratri avatars of Durga Maa are worshipped.

Let’s delve into the significance of each avatar and the corresponding color to wear on each day of Navratri:

1. Shailaputri

Among the Navratri 9 days Devi names, the first day is the day of Devi Shailaputri. The literal meaning of Shailputri means the daughter (putri) of the mountain (Shaila). She is differently acknowledged by the names of Sati, Bhavani, Parvati, and Hemwati. She is the absolute embodiment of the power of Brahma, Vishnu, and Mahadev. The Goddess is represented with a crescent moon on the forehead, trident in right and lotus in the left hand. She rides on Nandi bull.

Colour To Wear: Colour orange is devoted to the day of Shailaputri. It represents enthusiasm, success, and happiness.

2. Brahmacharini

The second day is of the deity Brahmacharini. She is the Maa of austerity and penance as her name Brahmacharini represents the female who practices Brahmacharya (renunciation from worldly pleasures). She walks on bare feet, carrying a Japa mala in her right hand and kamandalu in her left hand. She endows her devotees with grace, blissfulness, peace, and prosperity.

Colour To Wear: White is the color of Brahmacharini synonymous with purity, virginity, inner peace, and sacredness.

3. Chandraghanta

The third day is of Navratri Goddess Chandraghanta. Chandraghanta wears a half-moon shaped like a bell on her forehead, which describes the etymology of her name. She adorned her forehead with the half-moon after marrying Lord Shiva. She is revered by the followers on the third day for tranquillity and prosperity in life. She mounts on a tigress and is described with ten hands and three eyes. She carries Trishul, Gada, sword, and Kamadalu in her four left hands while her fifth hand is in Varadamudra. She holds a lotus, arrow, Dhanush, Japa mala in her right fourth hand and keeps her fifth right hand in Abhaya Mudra.

Colour To Wear: On the third of Navartri, red color is worn by the devotees for passion, fearlessness, and sexuality.

4. Kushmanda

Deity Kushmanda possesses the power to live inside the blazing sun, hence the name Kushmanda. Having a luminous body as that of the sun, she is credited to create a world with her divine and radiant smile. The Navratri importance of this Goddess is that she bestows her worshippers with good wellbeing, strength, and strength. She is represented with eight hands, therefore known by the name of Ashtabhuja Devi. Her form is pictured with eight to ten hands holding a trident, discus, sword, hook, mace, bow, arrow, two jars of honey and blood. Her one hand is always in the Abhaya mudra form she blesses all her followers. She rides on a tiger.

Colour To Wear: Royal blue is the hue of this day and Goddess stating elegance and richness.

5. Skandamata

The fifth day of Navratri is for Skandamata- mother of the war God Skanda (Kartikey). She rides ferocious lion and carries Lord Skanda(infant) in her lap. It is believed that she was chosen as the commander in chief of war against the demon, thereby she is also recognized as “Goddess of Fire.” The iconography of this female God is depicted with four hands, lotus flower in her upper two hands, one hand in Abhaya Mudra, and one right hand, she carries Skanda. She is often pictured seated on a lotus flower and is referred to as Padamasani.

Colour To Wear: Wear a yellow color as it will keep you cheerful and energized.

6. Katyayani

The sixth form of Maa Durga is Katyayani also adored as Mahalaxmi. Katyayani was born to destroy bull demon Mahishasura. Her defining characteristics include anger, vengeance, and ultimate victory over evils. All those who remember her with a pure heart and utmost faith are blessed with boons. She sits on a magnificent lion and is portrayed with four hands. Sword and lotus in her left hands and rights hands in Abhaya Mudra and Varadamudra.

Colour To Wear: Green color is associated with new beginnings. It is worn to evoke a sense of fertility and growth.

7. Kalaratri

Maa with a dark complexion, furious soul, and a fearless posture. Her big red eyes, sticking out blood-red tongue and sobre on hand makes her the Goddess of death. Also, she is well-known by the names of Kali Maa and Kalratri. She is seen seated on a donkey adorning scattered black hair and three round eyes. She has four hands. Right hand in Abhaya Mudra and Vardara Mudra and sword and iron hook in the left hand.

Colour To Wear: On this day, the grey color is worn. It balances the energy and keeps the people down to earth.

8. Mahagauri

Mahagauri is the eight form of Goddess Durga and regarded as the most graceful form among the navaforms. Her beauty glows like pearl purity. Being the Goddess of purity, cleanliness, endurance, and peace, her worshipper’s flaws and mistakes are burnt to ashes. Mahagauri has four arms. She keeps her right hand in the pose of alleviating suffering and trident in the lower right hand. Her upper left arm holds tambourine and the lower-left provides blessings.

Colour To Wear: For Mahagauri pooja, wear purple color which epitomizes opulence, nobility, and power.

9. Siddhidharti

She possesses natural healing powers. She sits in a blissfully happy and enchanting pose. She is the Goddess Siddhidharti either journeys on a lotus or a tiger or lion. She has four hands. She holds Gada in one and chakram in the other. A lotus flower in one and shankha in the other.

Colour To Wear: Wear peacock green color and manifest grace, integrity, and watchfulness.

During Navratri, as you immerse yourself in worship, dance, and cultural festivities, wearing the prescribed color for each day is not just a tradition; it’s a way to connect with the divine energies represented by each form of Goddess Durga.

Final Words

Navratri is a time to celebrate the divine feminine energy and seek blessings for a prosperous and harmonious life. By understanding the significance of each avatar and wearing the corresponding color, you can align yourself with the spiritual essence of this sacred festival. As you celebrate Navratri with your family and friends, may it bring you joy, prosperity, and inner peace. Happy Navratri!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *